The missing link

September 11, 2009

1. Many thanks to those of you who have contacted me regarding the story about Scott Rennie thinking about the USA.  It wasn’t posted by Affirmation Scotland after all – for which I apologies.  My memory wasn’t serving me well.  And when you see that it was a post by Kim Cran, a leading in light in AS in the early days, I trust you will understand and even forgive my mistake.  Thanks to David R for finding the link. 

http://groups.google.com/group/oldsouthlgbtandfriends/browse_thread/thread/ae64a6a27e5f4dd6/c430a8a5ca47dc80 

2.Now for something completely different.  You may be familiar with CS Lewis’ book “The Screwtape Letters” where he imagines letters from a senior devil to a junior.  Gavin Brown in Aberdeen has tried doing something similar.  Here’s a link to his site. 

http://starlingford.wordpress.com/2009/09/10/screwtape-and-the-temptational-synod/ 

Finally, just a word to regular readers.  I’m giving it a break for the weekend.  If there are any developments I’ll let you know on Monday.

Affirmation Scotland

September 11, 2009

I have been asked by Blair Robertson of Affirmation Scotland to point out that AS has never been involved in discussions with another denomination. 

He denies that there ever was a post about Scott Rennie moving to the USA on the AS web-site.  I have no doubt that such a post existed, but it may be that it was a personal post by Rev Kim Cran who helped found AS but has returned to the USA.  Did anyone else see it?